Biennial Election to the Karnataka Legislative Council from 20 Local Authorities’Constituencies for 25 seats due to retirement of sitting members on 05.01.2022–reg.

Featured Posts National political news Politics Technology Trending
Spread the News online news,Karnataka,november 9th,2021: The term of office of the 25 sitting members of Karnataka Legislative Council from 20 Local Authorities’Constituencies is going to expire on 05.01.2022 as per details given below:


S. No.Name of Local Authorities ConstituenciesNo. of seat(s)Name of memberDate of Retirement
 Bidar01Vijay Singh                05.01.2022
 Gulbarga 01B. G. Patil
 Bijapur02S.R. Patil
Sunilgouda Patil
 Belgaum02Kavatagimath Mahantesh Mallikarjun
Vivekrao Vasantrao Patil
 Uttara Kannada01Ghotnekar Shrikant Laxman
 Dharwad02Pradeep Shettar
Mane Shrinivas
 Raichur01Basavaraj Patil Itagi
 Bellary01K. C. Kondaiah
 Chitradurga01G. Raghuachar
 Shimoga01R. Prasanna Kumar
 Dakshina Kannada02K. Prathapchandra Shetty
Kota Srinivasa Poojary
 Chikmagalur01Pranesh M.K.
 Hassan01M.A. Gopalaswamy
 Tumkur01Kanthraj (BML)
 Mandya01N. Appajigowda
 Bangalore01M. Narayanaswamy
 Bangalore Rural01S. Ravi
 Kolar01C.R. Manohar
 Kodagu01Sunil Subramani M.P.
 Mysore02R. Dharmasena
S. Nagaraju (Sandesh Nagaraju)

2.Now, the Commission has decided to hold biennial election to Karnataka Legislative Council from above mentioned 20 Local Authorities’ Constituencies in accordance with the following programme:-

S. NoEventsDates
Issue of Notifications16th November, 2021 (Tuesday)
Last date of making nominations23rd November, 2021 (Tuesday)
Scrutiny of nominations24th November, 2021 (Wednesday)
Last date for withdrawal of candidatures26th November, 2021 (Friday)
Date of Poll10th December, 2021 (Friday)
Hours of Poll08:00 am to 04:00 pm
Counting of Votes14th December, 2021 (Tuesday)
Date before which election shall be completed16th December, 2021 (Thursday)
  1. Broad Guidelines of Covid-19 as already issued by ECI as well as the recent guidelines issued by ECI as contained in para 06 of Press Note dated 28.09.2021 available at link to be followed, wherever applicable, during entire election process for all persons.
  2. The Model Code of Conduct concerning the said election will come into force with immediate effect in the concerned Constituency. Please see the details in Commission’s website under teachers%E2%80%99-and-local-authorities%E2%80%99-constituencies-%E2%80%93-mcc-instructions-%E2%80%93-regarding/

5.The Chief Secretary, Karnataka is being directed to depute a senior officer from the State to ensure that the extant instructions regarding COVID-19 containment measures are complied with while making arrangements for conducting the election.