Biennial Election to the Karnataka Legislative Council by the members of Legislative Assembly (MLAs) – reg.

Featured Posts National political news Technology Trending
Spread the News online news,Delhi,May 10th,2022:The term of office of 07 members of Karnataka Legislative Council elected by the Members of Legislative Assembly (MLAs) is going to expire on 14.06.2022. The details are as under:-

S. NoName of MemberDate of Retirement 
1.Laxman Sangappa Savadi    14.06.2022   
2.Ramappa Timmapur
3.Allum Veerabhadrappa
4.H.M. Ramesha Gowda
5.Veena Achaiah S.
6.Narayana Swamy K.V.
7.Lahar Singh Siroya

2.The Commission has decided to conduct above mentioned biennial election to the Karnataka Legislative Council by members of Legislative Assembly in accordance with the following programme:-

S. No.EventsDates
 Issue of Notification17th May, 2022 (Tuesday)
 Last Date of making nominations24th May, 2022 (Tuesday)
 Scrutiny of nominations25th May, 2022 (Wednesday)
 Last date for withdrawal of candidatures27th May, 2022 (Friday)
 Date of Poll03rd June, 2022 (Friday)
 Hours of Poll09:00 am – 04:00 pm
 Counting of Votes03rd June, 2022 (Friday) at 05:00 pm
 Date before which election shall be completed07th June, 2022 (Tuesday)

3.Broad Guidelines of Covid-19 issued by ECI as contained in para 06 of Press Note, dated 02.05.2022, available at link to be followed, wherever applicable, during entire election process by all persons.

4.The Chief Secretary, Karnataka is being directed to depute a senior officer from the State to ensure that the extant instructions regarding COVID-19 containment measures are complied with while making arrangements for conducting the election.